‘Where’d you go Bernadette’ Review

‘Where’d you go Bernadette’ by Maria Semple  (3.5 / 5 stars )

whered-you-go-b

Goodreads  l  Waterstones  l  Book Depository

Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she’s a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she’s a disgrace; to design mavens, she’s a revolutionary architect, and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom.

Then Bernadette disappears. It began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette’s intensifying allergy to Seattle—and people in general—has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands. A trip to the end of the earth is problematic.

To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, secret correspondence—creating a compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.

Review

Where’d you go Bernadette is told through a series of emails, letters and other written correspondence with short periods of narrative used to weave it all together. It follows Bee as she tries to uncover why her mother has disappeared just before their family trip to Antarctica, and see if she can find her to bring her back.

I was able to read this book very quickly as the writing style is easy to follow and as the story is told through a variety of different methods (like letters and emails). I felt this made it more interesting than if the author had just chosen to write in the narrative.

The character of Bernadette however is very difficult to enjoy, whilst I don’t think the author means for us to love her, and it feels like the author is poking fun at these rich, private school mothers. However, as Bernadette is a difficult character to like, I found it difficult at first to care about why she had gone, or where she had gone. As you learn more about Bernadette, she does become a more interesting character (despite the fact that she said many things that I didn’t like). Sometimes, it is enjoyable to have a character you don’t love as the focus of a story, it can make it more interesting, and I began to find this towards the end of the book.

The writing style was funny and suited this kind of story and these characters, and I’m pleased that this was a standalone as we had a clear story arc with a few characters who were fairly well developed in the amount of story that we had.

I found this was an easy, fairly enjoyable read that was good for the summer,. However, I wasn’t blown away by the story and didn’t really find the characters that memorable.

 

Have you read it? What did you think?

 

Happy reading,

Lauren : )

 

2 thoughts on “‘Where’d you go Bernadette’ Review

  1. I read it and did enjoyed it. You are right, it’s reeeeally difficult to empathize with satirical characters, sometimes. I feel like authors and publishers should give us a warning. Something like: Hey, you are reading a satire. You’re not supposed to like the character or agree with what’s going on. Don’t forget that.
    .
    I think they should put it as a reminder every thirty pages so we don’t forget. I remember at university I had to read one, but didn’t know what it was. It was basically a story about Irish peasants during the great famine and how the elite were starving and their solution was to kidnap or buy the peasant children from poverty stricken families or abandoned or orphaned children. It told how these rich dudes bought, killed, cooked and ate the poor children. Not only was it nutritional, but it was a way to keep the poor from over populating. And it glorified it. It was the first satire I read and I remember being outraged. I think about it now and it’s kind of funny. My professor had to explain what it was and why authors choose this method of writing to highlight social injustice. It was an eye opener for sure.

    Like

    1. I agree with you Ella! I absolutely had to keep reminding myself that I wasn’t supposed to like Bernadette, that she was a caricature of those typical, private school mums. I haven’t read much satire at all, and I think that’s what threw me as I’m not used to it! I’m hoping that I can go back and re – read the book again, and hopefully next time I will be able to just see the funny side.

      Like

Leave a Reply

