‘The Crown’ by Kiera Cass Review

the-crown

Goodreads  l Waterstones  l Book Depository

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Review
I’ll admit that ‘The Selection’ series has not been close to a 5 star series for me, but I found them easy reads and was fairly interested in knowing how America and Maxon’s story ended. I was a bit hesitant to read these last two books (‘The Heir’ and ‘The Crown’) as the original Selection trilogy had completed it’s story arc and didn’t really need that much adding to it. However, curiosity got the better of me and I read ‘The Heir’. Whilst I didn’t love it, I was stubborn and wanted to finish the series.

‘The Heir didn’t overly interest me, I wasn’t a huge fan of Eadlyn and I was pretty annoyed that it was basically going to be the same as ‘The Selection’ just with males instead of females coming to be ‘selected’. ‘The Crown’ didn’t really improve on matters. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, the story line didn’t really interest me, and the romance felt forced and cliche. The only part I enjoyed was being able to see what has happened with America and Maxon since the end of ‘The One’. It was also nice to be able to see some of the changes that Maxon made to Illea, particularly as he spoke about the changes he wanted to make quite a lot in the first three books.

I wonder if I may have enjoyed this book more when I was 14/15, I’m sure this would have been right up my street and I would have enjoyed it a lot more, but as a 21 year old I wasn’t captured by the story line, characters or the romance.

Two stars have been given though as, like I said, I enjoyed seeing some more of Maxon and America , and I did like some of the supporting characters (e.g. Lady Brice, Hale, Ean, Henri, Kile, and Eadlyn’s brothers).

*Spoiler Alert*

I so wanted to see more of Hale and Ean’s relationship develop though, as when it was announced, it was so unexpected as there hadn’t been any hints to it at all! This meant it felt a little like it was just thrown in there for the sake of it.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Leave a Reply

