Empire of Storms Review

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

eos

Goodreads l Waterstones l Book Depository

Synopsis

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

My Review

3 out of 5 stars

So, I really loved the ‘Throne of Glass’ series when I first started it. As the series has carried on, it has changed dramatically from how it started. Obviously series story lines need to develop and change as the series progress, otherwise the series would be extremely boring. However, I’m not sure I’m 100% on board with how the ‘Throne of Glass’ series is going.

First off, I’m really not enjoying Celaena/Aelin/ whatever she is known as now and however you spell them. She is winding me up, she doesn’t tell anyone anything, which is incredibly selfish when everyone else has been putting their lives on the line to support her. Plus, she doesn’t feel like she has really developed at all, she still feels like the young, spiteful assassin that we met in ‘Throne of Glass’.

I hate Rowan, and I know that that isn’t a popular opinion and I’m sure I may get ripped apart for saying it, but, it’s how I feel. I have never like him and Aelin together, and all this ‘territorial Fae’ behaviour really winds me up. It isn’t necessary. All this ‘claiming’ and ‘possessiveness’ and being territorial should not be excused because he is Fae, it winds me up and I don’t want to talk about him any more or I will get angry.

The side characters however, they really make the story. I loved being able to see more of Manon, Asterin and the Thirteen (there was one moment in the book when I was very worried for these guys and nearly threw the book across the room – if you’ve read it, you know what I mean).

I’m not enjoying the romance. Seriously, everyone falls into a lovely heterosexual relationship perfectly even when it doesn’t make sense? No. NO NO NO. WHY? What is the point? Urgh, not everyone has to be in a relationship, so much of the romance didn’t make any sense in this book and it really wound me up. Also, the ‘mature content’ was very mature… but was described in a really… strange way… Am I the only one that felt really uncomfortable reading these scenes?

This book really didn’t need to be as long as it was, the last 30% of the book is where the pacing really kicked in and the action really started. Also, at the end of the book there is a massive cliff hanger that is making me excited to read the next book. But, the start of the book felt quite slow, and the writing feels like it has taken a down turn from the start of the series. It just didn’t feel like any of the books earlier on in the series.

Overall, I’m very conflicted, hence the three stars. It was okay, and there were elements and characters that I loved, but there were also aspects and characters that I really did not like.

 

Have you read Empire of Storms? What did you think? Do you agree or disagree with me?

Leave a Reply

