Dreaming of Venice Blog Tour

DOV

Buy the book here l Goodreads

Summary:

Find love, friendship and prosecco – in the magical city of Venice.

 

Life is tough for Penny. A dead end job in a London café, a boyfriend in Australia (what could go wrong?) and an art career going nowhere. But then Penny is approached with an extraordinary proposition.

 

It isn’t going to be easy but, if she can pull it off, she will turn her life around and at long last see the fulfilment of her dream – to visit Venice. And, just maybe, find true happiness with the handsome man of her dreams.

 

But can dreams come true?

 

Review:

4 / 5 stars

I’ll admit, when I first started reading this book I thought it was going to be the most ridiculous story line ever.

A girl saves a baby from being hit by a train, gets spotted on the news by someone who works for a rich family and Penny (our lead) just so happens to look exactly like the daughter. She then gets transformed into the rich daughter and asked to take her place at social events, living a double life that she can’t tell anyone about. Yeah right, like that would happen. I rolled my eyes and thought I would have to drag myself through the book. Well, how wrong was I?! This ended up being a beautiful and funny contemporary story that was light and fluffy, but with genuinely lovely character development and genuine female friendships forming.

I’m not usually a fan of romantic comedies, but this one was just perfect. Despite the ‘silly’ story line, the book never felt stupid. I laughed out loud at the parts that were meant to be funny, and desperately turned the pages to find out what was going to be happening at other points. Even love at first sight was handled really well, it made sense in the book and didn’t feel forced at all.

This book is perfect if you want a light and fluffy read, but with a bit more depth. The characters were able to develop, and there was a clear story arc that was interesting and engaging. Never once did I put the book down in boredom, if anything, I put other books down so I could get back to it.

Despite not being a big fan of this genre of book, I definitely think that I will be picking up more of T. A. Williams’ books.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review for the blog tour.

Dov BLOG TOUR

Author Information

TA WilliamsMy name is Trevor Williams. I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, “Dirty Minds” one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn’t possibly comment. Ask my wife…

My background, before taking up writing full time, was in teaching and I was principal of a big English language school for many years. This involved me in travelling all over the world and my love of foreign parts is easy to find in my books. I speak a few languages and my Italian wife and I still speak Italian together.

I’ve written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I’m enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. My most recent books are the What happens… series. What happens in Tuscany reached #1 in the Amazon.uk Romantic Comedy chart and What Happens on the Beach, the last in the series, came out in July. Chasing Shadows is still romance, but with the added spice of a liberal helping of medieval history, one of my pet hobbies. I do a lot of cycling and I rode all the way to Santiago de Compostela on a bike a few years back. This provided both the inspiration and the background research for Chasing Shadows.

I’m originally from Exeter, and I’ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away down here in south west England. I love the place.

 

Website: http://www.tawilliamsbooks.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/TAWilliamsbooks

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks

Leave a Reply

