Heartless by Marissa Meyer

heartless

Waterstones l Book Depository l Goodreads

Summary

Review

4.5 / 5 stars

I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

When I saw that Marissa Meyer was writing a story all about how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen of Hearts, I was so excited. I adore the Lunar Chronicles and was desperate for more of her writing. Therefore, when I was accepted to receive a copy from Netgalley, I was even more excited.

Overall, I did enjoy this book and I would recommend it to people who love the Lunar Chronicles, Re – tellings and Alice in Wonderland. Whilst this isn’t a direct re- telling, there are a lot of references to the original story. Meyer clearly researched Alice in Wonderland in order to allow her to drop in references and to portray Wonderland accurately.

Alongside the world building, the characters were also well developed, and the story arc was also well thought through. Romance blossomed, it wasn’t insta-love. Characters had realistic storylines and realistic reactions to situations that happened to them (realistic in Wonderland at least!) It was clear to see how the events that occurred in the book could lead up to Catherine turning into the Queen of Hearts that we all know so well from the Wonderland books.

I also love Marissa Meyer’s writing, it was so easy to just slip into the book and lose a couple of hours as I just wanted to keep reading and find out what was going to happen. However, on this note, at points the book did seem slightly longer than it should be. There were points where I became a little bored and needed to put the book down for a bit before I could come back to it and lose myself in the story again.

Despite this point, I fell in love with the main characters and felt genuine emotion and heartbreak at the outcome of the story. If a book can make me fall in love with the characters and feel emotional as a result of what happens to them , then that for me is the sign of a good book.

I’m already desperately waiting to see what Marissa Meyer publishes next!

4 thoughts on “Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

